Accountants Enterprise in Australia only
Master reports can be used as the basis for creating a new report. You cannot save changes to the Master reports themselves. When you save a Master level report, Reporter saves the report to the level at which you opened Reporter (e.g. Practice or Client). The edited Master report can be saved with the same name or a different name.
When you edit and save a Master report to the Practice or Client level with its original name, the Master report no longer displays in the Reports tab. It is replaced by the Practice or Client report. The Master report remains in the background and is reinstated if the Client and/or Practice reports are deleted or renamed. The Master report displays when Reporter is opened from a client ledger, where a client level component of the report has not been created.
If you create a Practice level version of a Master report, it will be effective for all the client ledgers. The Master will not be displayed in the list of reports while a practice version of the same report exists.
Be aware, that if you create a Practice or Client copy of a Format, Chart Map or Database Map that is used by a report, this will not cause the report itself to become a non-Master. A Master report can contain non-Master items. If you make changes to items that a Master report uses, your resulting reports differ from those produced by a Master report whose constituent items are also at the Master level.
Also, if you create non-Master versions of Formats or Database Map items, or add items to a Master level Chart Map, the Master report that uses the changed items will continue to be a Master report. A Client copy of a Master item will be used by a Master report when that report is run from a client ledger for which a Client version of the Master item has been created.